Milwaukee Rampage Sporting Chance Non Profit

The 2000 Season
Coach Boro Sucevic

  1. 21-10-1
  2. 42 Points 16 Goals 10 Assists
    Leading Scorer - Digital Takawira
  3. 16
    Most Goals - Digital Takawira
  4. 11
    Most Assists - Steve Bernal
  5. 17-8-1 1.60 GAA
    Top Goalkeeper - Dan Popik
The Milwaukee Rampage completed its eighth season in 2000, and once again thrilled soccer fans from all over Wisconsin by advancing all the way to the A-League's "Final Four" for the second time in club history.  After failing to reach the playoffs for the first time in 1999, A-League "Coach of the Year" candidate Boro Sucevic guided the Rampage to another scintillating run to the league semi-finals.  Led on the field by the reigning A-League MVP Digital Takawira, the explosive Rampage qualified for the playoffs and knocked off the Nashville Metros and the top-seeded Richmond Kickers en route to its third "Final Four" appearance.  Rampage head coach Boro Sucevic guided the Rampage to a complete turnaround in 2000, as the team finished the regular season with a regular season franchise-record 18 wins.  After a disappointing 13-15 season last year, the Rampage won more home games than any other team in the league that year (14), including a team-record 13 straight victories at Uihlein  Soccer Park.  Forwards Digital Takawira (16 goals) and Brian Loftin (10 goals) helped lead the team's highly explosive offense to 69 goals, second only to the Minnesota Thunder (74).  Milwaukee's 69 goals were the most since the 1994 inaugural season, when the Rampage tallied an unbelievable 81 goals.  Forward Digital Takawira ended the season tied for the A-League scoring title, as he accumulated 42 points on 16 goals and 10 assists.  It marked the first time ever that a Rampage player won the scoring title.  The two-time Major League Soccer All-Star amassed his 42 points in just 21 games, while Charleston Battery forward Paul Conway needed 26 games to score his 42 points...The Rampage set several franchise records in 2000, including most wins in a season (18), most home wins (14), longest home winning streak (13) and highest average attendance (3,654).  The Rampage also led the A-League by scoring three or more goals in 16 of its 28 regular season games, and a league-record 13 players scored at least two goals this year...Rookie goalkeeper Dan Popik picked up his franchise-record 17th win of the season against Tennessee, and finished the season with a 17-8-1 record and a 1.60 goals-against average.  The former U.S. Under-20 National Team 'keeper finished the year tied for second among A-League goalkeepers with his 17 wins.  The 21-year old native of Long Island, New York, is the youngest goalkeeper ever to play for the Rampage...Defender Chris Jahr missed only two games during the season, after being invited to play with the Chicago Fire of the MLS.  Despite missing the two road games, Jahr logged more minutes than any other field player in 2000, with 2,188 (Bernal was just three minutes behind at 2,185, and midfielder Nate Houser was third at 2,104).  Popik led the team by playing in 2,306 out of a possible 2,540 minutes...Midfielder Jason Willan finished third in team scoring with 19 points (6 goals, 7 assists).  The veteran from Menomonee Falls became the team's all-time leader in games played with 136...Forward  Todd Dusosky continued his impressive play and notched a goal and an assist in the first half of the game against Indiana...Defenders Alen Soso, David Marshall and Josh Provan logged every minute of every game during a weekend series.  Provan was one of just six players to appear in a team-leading 26 games in 2000.